Every year, the Hoosier Chapter of SWANA elects (or re-elects) about half of it’s Directors to a two-year term on the board.  Below you will find brief bios for each of the candidates on this year’s ballot.

Troy Duxbury is an Applications Engineer for LSC Environmental Products. He is also the Hoosier Chapter’s YP (Young Professional) Rep. Troy received his degree in Civil Engineering with an Environmental focus from South Dakota State University in 2014. As an Applications Engineer, it is his responsibility to leverage the successes LSC has achieved over the last 25+ years with their spray-applied products, including educating the industry on recent acquisition technologies and expanding the uses and markets for all technologies. Troy works with Engineering Firms, Regulatory Agencies, and construction companies, where he delivers presentations and provides technical support on the LSC family of products. Troy has been tasked with and has taken an active role in growing 4 target markets: Coal Combustion Residuals (CCR), Emergency Response, Intermediate Cover, and Vegetative Rehabilitation Technologies for poor quality soils.

Debbie Hackman of Brownstown, Indiana has been in the trash and recycling business for over 25 years. She has served as education coordinator for Jackson County Solid Waste Management District and Recycling Supervisor for the City of Seymour. Debbie formerly managed the Rumpke MRF in Louisville, Kentucky and currently is the Executive Director of the Jackson County Recycling District. Debbie serves as Solid Waste Technical Advisor for Indiana Rural Community Assistance Partnership, board member of the Association of Indiana Solid Waste Districts and vice-president of the Board of Directors of the Hoosier Chapter of SWANA. She served on the 2016 WasteCon committee. Debbie is SWANA certified and serves on the faculty for Recycling Systems, Integrated Solid Waste Management Systems, and Composting.

Pam Kirklin is the Environmental Resource Coordinator for Marion Utilities.  She is responsible for managing the residuals from the Marion Drinking Water, Wastewater, Storm water, and Solid Waste utilities which includes land application of biosolids and agricultural lime substitute, composting and distribution of street sweeping debris, utilization of biogas in a combined heat and power system, and identification and implementation of systems to recover materials and energy from municipal solid waste. Pam is currently serving as Treasurer for the Chapter.

Bill Paraskevas worked for Wehran Engineering as a Staff and Senior Engineer and later as Director of the Indianapolis branch office from 1979 through 1995. He then worked for Andrews Environmental Engineering as a Senior Project Manager and Director of the Indianapolis branch office from 1995 through the end of 2014. After serving as an Environmental Manager with Republic Services for three years, Bill is currently working with ATC Group Services as a Senior Project Manager. While most of his experience is in the solid and hazardous waste fields, he has also completed projects with air permitting, compliance and site development needs. Bill has been a staple and long term servant of the Hoosier Chapter.  Bill is currently the Chapter’s Secretary.

SWANA national new web